TED Talks on Cancer

I teach on a Cancer Biology module. In preparing for my lectures, I have been checking out some of the information on the internet about cancer. I started with TED talks because the talks are bit sized pieces aimed at an general audience.

TED talks have curated a playlist entitled: A cure for cancer? So far I have checked out three of the five talks and they are interesting. The talks are 20 min in length and deal with the importance of microenvironment, angiogenesis and a multi-disciplinary approach to cancer research.

I don’t agree with everything they say. I particularly didn’t like when William Li started to talk about anti-angiogenic foods. However, I appreciate the importance of a good diet with fruit and vegtables. Linking this to just angiogenesis, I am not so sure….

This afternoon, I will talk about the role of infections in cancer. The best example, in humans is HPV. TED Talks has an interesting talk about an infectious cancer affecting the Tasmanian devil.

As of today, there are 18 TED talks tagged ‘Cancer’. I haven’t watched them all. A little while ago, I checked out Ivan Oransky: Are we over-medicalized? It’s an nice counter point to some of the science and medicine talks.

For more information, maybe check out some of my other posts:

About science2therapy

My name is Paul Brennan. I am a research scientist at Cardiff University. I am interested in how scientific and medical research has contributed to human health and new therapeutic agents.
This entry was posted in Inspired by my lectures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TED Talks on Cancer

  1. Pingback: TED Talks on Cancer | Science2therapy's Blog

Leave a Reply

